Community supports 19 new and returning scholars

This year Jenner’s Pond awarded $55,000 in employee scholarships to 19 recipients, ranging from teenagers to adults, who wish to continue their education.

“Thanks to the generosity of our donors, we are able to support our employees in the face of rising educational costs,” said Nancy Deutsch, executive director of Jenner’s Pond. “The Employee Scholarship Fund helps us attract talented people who provide excellent service and care for our residents and know they are appreciated.”

This year, ten new and nine returning scholars received scholarships. New scholarship award recipients are Mattison Dye, Drew Galante, Luke Richards, Taylor Inzaina, Emma Lytle, Alexis McGhee, Paige Pearce, Jaquelyn Pierce, Zachary Pappas and Connor Skiles. Returning scholars are Fatima Ayllon, Jesus Cordova-Rangel, Kaylin Cousin, Rosalie Galli, Jasmine Rivera-Salinas, Jessica Smith, Madeline Stancil and Kirstie Szewczyk.

“I am so grateful to work for an organization where the residents of the community truly care about the staff and want to support and see them grow in both their personal lives and professional careers. It means a lot to me to be picked as one of the scholarship recipients this year,” said Emma Lytle, a home care associate at Jenner’s Pond who is studying marketing and business at Messiah University.

The Jenner’s Pond Employee Scholarship Committee, made up of residents, runs the program in conjunction with staff of the Simpson Foundation, a non-profit that supports Simpson residents and employees. Committee members also assist in obtaining gifts to the Educational Scholarship Fund—which are used in their entirety each year to provide scholarships for eligible employees.

“It is exciting to watch the staff as they become more confident and evolve as time passes, to see them engage with the residents and to share their future goals,” said Crystal Margerison, general manager of dining at Jenner’s Pond, who supervises many of the scholarship recipients.

Jenner’s Pond Employee Scholarship recipients

Jenner’s Pond Employee Scholarship recipients: Front Row (L to R): Taylor Inzaina, Emma Lytle, Evelyn Lara, Rosalie Galli, Fatima Ayllon, Kaylin Cousin, Jasmine Rivera-Salinas and Jesus Cordova-Rangel. Back Row (L to R): Kirstie Szewczyk, Jessica Smith, Mattison Dye, Zachary Pappas, Drew Galante, Paige Pearse, Jacquelyn Pierce, Connor Skiles and Madeline Stancil. (Not pictured: Alexis McGhee and Luke Richards)

Jenner’s Pond Employee Scholarship Committee

Jenner’s Pond Employee Scholarship Committee: Larry Spaid, Advisor; Jan Torras, Secretary; Rita Willis; Lorraine Zwycewicz, Vice Chair; Len Freedman, Chair; Marge Frampton; Susan Sharp, Simpson Vice President of Philanthropy; Nancy Deutsch, Jenner’s Pond Executive Director; and John Breuer. (Not pictured: Debbie Hayes and Doris Smith)


Luke Richards
Pennsylvania College of Technology
Machine Tool Technology

Connor Skiles
Shippensburg University
Computer Science

Fatima Ayllon
Temple University
Health Information Management

Zachary Pappas
West Chester University
Pre-Business: Marketing

Jesus Cordova-Rangel
West Chester University
Cell & Molecular Biology

Paige Pearse
Delaware County Community College
Science for Health Professionals

Kaylin Cousin
Duquesne University

Jacquelyn Pierce
Wilmington University

Taylor Inzaina
Delaware County Community College

Rosalie Galli
Delaware County Community College
Hospitality Management

Emma Lytle
Messiah University
Marketing, Business

Evelyn Lara
Temple University
Early Childhood Education

Alexis McGhee
Colorado Christian University
Nonprofit Management

Jasmine Rivera-Salinas
Duquesne University

Jessica Smith
Hartwick College

Mattison Dye
Cecil College

Madeline Stancil
Gwynedd Mercy University

Drew Galante
West Chester University
Pre-Business: Accounting

Kirstie Szewczyk
West Chester University

Thank you to all donors who are able to make these scholarships a reality!

Jenner’s Pond Employee Scholarship Committee

Len Freedman, Chair

Lorraine Zwycewicz, Vice Chair

Jan Torras, Secretary

John Breuer

Marge Frampton

Debbie Hayes

Doris Smith

Rita Willis

Larry Spaid, Advisor

Skip to content